University of Oregon
School of Architecture and Allied Arts


Product Design students competing in North Carolina exhibition

The University of Oregon’s Product Design Program has teamed up with furniture company Groovystuff, of Dallas, Texas, on an education-to-industry cross-cooperative partnership in “The Groovystuff by Design: Connecting Education with Industry Challenge.” Groovystuff is cosponsoring thirteen UO students for the challenge, which takes place in High Point, North Carolina, from April 18-23. The winning design will receive a royalty for life as a licensed product in the Groovystuff catalog, in addition to a $250 cash prize.

PD postcard


Designer’s gift to fund student scholarship

She finished her education debt-free, says designer and alumna Noma Hanlon, BArch ’78, and she wants to help other students do the same. Hanlon has established an endowment fund at the UO Foundation for student scholarship support that will award its first scholarship this fall to a deserving student in the School of Architecture and Allied Arts.

Hanlon of HB Design


Centennial: 1990s consolidates A&AA spaces

In the fall of 1987, the Oregon Legislature approved $8.03 million for a long-awaited “Architecture and Allied Arts Addition and Alteration” project at UO. The move marked the fulfillment of a twenty-two year commitment to expand A&AA that began in 1965. The project was direly needed, as Wilmot “Bill” Gilland, then dean of A&AA, said during the dedication of the project after it was completed, in 1991: To give you some idea of what this change means, let me just recount my own experience in studio locations during the past twenty-two years. When I first came to Oregon I had a studio on the second floor of the old Boiler Plant adjacent to the then woodshop, so conversations were often impossible and tables were blessed with sawdust. [Later] I had a studio on the North Site on the second floor of the old Farmhouse, where the roof leaked and it was so cold that students had to wear gloves while drawing.

1991 building dedication


Reynolds helped guide region’s energy legacy

John Reynolds is well known in architecture circles for his passion and expertise creating sustainable energy-efficient buildings and living spaces. He has taught both architecture design and environmental control systems at the University of Oregon since 1967, is a coauthor of the widely used textbook, Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings, and wrote a highly acclaimed book on courtyard design and aesthetics.

John Reynolds


Sustainable City Year Program to partner with City of Redmond

The Sustainable City Year Program is moving to Central Oregon, selecting Redmond for the 2015-16 academic year. More than 400 University of Oregon students will work on more than twenty projects with the City of Redmond during the year, beginning this month when students from a bicycle transportation planning course tour the city to research existing infrastructure. "Redmond will be our first SCYP city east of the Cascades and we are thrilled about the partnership,” said Marc Schlossberg, codirector of the Sustainable Cities Initiative.

Redmond airport