University of Oregon

College of Design

Ellis F. Lawrence Medal

The Ellis F. Lawrence Medal is awarded each year by the dean and the faculty of the UO College of Design (formerly the School of Architecture and Allied Arts) to a distinguished alumnus or alumna. Recipients are individuals whose professional and personal achievements embody the integrity, educational philosophy, and commitment to their chosen fields as exemplified by Lawrence, an outstanding teacher, leader, and nationally respected architect. Lawrence served as dean for thirty-two years from the founding of the school in 1914.

Lawrence Medal banner

2017 Ellis F. Lawrence Medal awarded to alumni duo—Bill Leddy and Marsha Maytum

An alumni duo, William Leddy, ’75 and Marsha Maytum, ‘77, received the Ellis F. Lawrence Medal on June 19 at the school’s commencement ceremony. This is the first time it has been given to two honorees. The 2017 Lawrence Medal program includes full biographies of Leddy and Maytum, images of work, and reflections on their UO education.

William Leddy and Marsha MaytumDesign for people and the environment has reached new levels thanks to achievements by UO alumni William Leddy, FAIA, and Marsha Maytum, FAIA, and their San Francisco firm, Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects.

From their early career as students in the Department of Architecture, where they met in the 1970s, to the award-winning, 25-person firm they helped to build, Leddy and Maytum have stayed true to their values—advancing sustainability, design excellence, social equity, and integrated practice.

This year, they were honored with the prestigious 2017 National American Institute of Architects Architecture Firm Award, the highest honor the Institute gives to a firm each year. Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects is also one of only three firms in the United States to have received eight Top Ten design awards from the American Institute of Architects Committee on the Environment (AIA COTE).

For Leddy and Maytum, their leadership goes beyond these awards. They consistently bring ecological design principles and standards to the forefront.

As a member of the AIA Committee on the Environment Advisory Group from 2009 to 2014, Leddy led the creation of the AIA COTE Top Ten Plus Award—the Institute’s first award to recognize proven sustainable design performance. As COTE chair in 2013, he initiated the AIA COTE Top Ten for Students Award, a national design competition for university students that promotes integrated ecological design thinking in architecture schools nationwide.

As an appointed member of the AIA’s Awards Task Force in 2012-13, Leddy led the initiative to require ecological design narratives and metrics within the AIA Honors Awards program. Since then, he has assisted the AIA California Council in successfully revising their design awards to include similar requirements. Maytum is currently an appointed member of the AIA Committee on the Environment Advisory Group.

Sustainable historic restoration has been the hallmark of Maytum’s work. She was an early advocate for the preservation of historic resources with the integration of new uses, technologies, and sustainable strategies. She is nationally recognized as a pioneer in bridging historic preservation and sustainable design. Maytum has focused her career on the rehabilitation of historic buildings, the adaptive reuse of existing structures, and the creation of new buildings within historic settings.

California College of the Arts
Above: California College of the Arts, San Francisco, California: An abandoned Greyhound Bus maintenance garage in San Francisco designed by Skidmore Owings and Merrill in 1951 was converted by LMSA into a solar-heated, interdisciplinary educational environment for the California College of the Arts.

Leddy’s advocacy for the integration of universal design within the profession’s design discourse stems from the firm’s ground-breaking Ed Roberts Campus, an international center for the disabled rights and independent living movement in Berkeley, California.

Maytum has been called upon by a wide variety of organizations to help promote sustainable design practices and historic preservation throughout the US. In the 1990s she was a team leader for several pioneering eco-charrettes including “Greening of the Presidio San Francisco,” “Greening Affordable Housing” Los Angeles, and the International Green Building Challenge in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, and Maastricht, Netherlands.

Their proficiency in diverse building types, including innovative educational environments, affordable housing for disadvantaged populations, and creative adaptive reuse of historic structures, has been recognized with more than 140 design awards, including 21 National AIA Awards and 36 national and international awards from other leading organizations.

In 2015 Leddy and Maytum were named the Pietro Belluschi Distinguished Visiting Professors at the University of Oregon. They taught, along with Roger Ota, MArch ’05, an intermediate design studio for a theoretical Portland site intended to house collaborative incubator spaces. One of the student projects, “Regenerating Water Avenue,” received national recognition in the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and its Committee on the Environment (COTE) Top Ten for Students Competition. The student team included Lacey Aley, Alex Collins, and Addison Estrada.

Leddy received his bachelor of architecture in 1975 and Maytum received hers in 1977; both began practicing in San Francisco upon graduation. Leddy and Maytum have been collaborating continuously with their partner Richard Stacy, FAIA, since 1983 in San Francisco.

Jacobs Institute for Design Innovation, University of California at Berkeley, California
Above: Jacobs Institute for Design Innovation, University of California at Berkeley, California: The mission of the Jacobs Institute for Design Innovation is to re-energize design and manufacturing innovation at the national level, honing the integrated set of skills students will need to create an abundant, sustainable future.

Thoreau Center for Sustainability
Above: Thoreau Center for Sustainability, The Presidio of San Francisco, California: A landmark in several ways, the Thoreau Center for Sustainability was the first renovation project at the new National Park in the Presidio of San Francisco, an early model of successful private/public partnerships within the National Park Service, and a pioneering integration of sustainable design strategies within the National Register of historic structures.
Ed Roberts Campus
Above: The Ed Roberts Campus is one of the first buildings of its kind in the nation—a community center serving and celebrating the Independent Living/Disabled Rights Movement. Located at a regional transit hub and integrating advanced strategies of universal design and sustainable design, the Ed Roberts Campus welcomes and supports people of all abilities.

Past Recipients

2016   Jerome Silbergeld '72
2015   Gail Dubrow '80
2014   Robert Gamblin '70
2013   David Ping-yee Lung '74, MArch '78
2012   Ranachith (Ronnie) Yimsut  '88
2011   Clifford S. Ackley, '59
2010   Fred Koetter, FAIA, '63
2009   Joe Hutshing, '80
2008   Tinker Hatfield, '77
2007    Julia Demichelis, '91
2006    Howard Backen, '62
2005    Rick Mather, RIBA, ‘61
2004    Peter Rothschild, FASLA, ’74, MLA '75
2003    James B. Cuno ’78
2002    Margo Grant Walsh ’60
2001    Elisabeth Walton Potter ’60
2000    Gordon W. Gilkey ’36
1999    James F. Ivory ’51
1998    Johnpaul Jones, FAIA, ‘67